General Discussion Forum.

sample pack question

sample pack question

Postby richard ellington » Sat Dec 06, 2008 3:37 am

Hi,

Quick question, do I NEED to use the sample pack provided or can I just use whatever samples I might have laying around?
This will be my first entry and am glad that it's a christmas themed one. Oughta be fun. Looking forward to this.

Thanks
richard ellington
Newb
Newb
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2008 3:33 am

Postby paulnewns » Sat Dec 06, 2008 7:55 am

Hi richard!
Welcome to the best compo in the world :)

Normally the rounds are limited to the samplepack/vst's provided and your program of choice using it's basic effects (or similar set up of effects to renoise). ie; compressor, reverb, delay, phaser, flanger, chorus, etc.

Is there a samplepack this round? Didn't think there was...

Either way this round sonicade is allowing any samples/effects etc as long as the final file only has samples in.

There is also a 6mb (compressed) file limit.

Unless sonicade says different. (?)

Peace out dude.

Looking forward to your tune.
:)
AMBTAX1 - USING RESNOISE
User avatar
paulnewns
Insomniac
Insomniac
 
Posts: 174
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2007 8:44 am

Postby Sonicade » Sat Dec 06, 2008 3:47 pm

Ambtax1 (Paul Newns) is 100% correct!

There is no samplepack this round. Use any samples you like. Also use any effects you like as long as they are rendered into your samples. (no VSTs included with entries)

I would just add to check out the rules for each round at http://www.sdcompo.com/rules.php as they change a bit each round. If any rule is unclear or you have a question feel free to post here like you did. One of us will be happy to answer it.
User avatar
Sonicade
Compo Admin
Compo Admin
 
Posts: 773
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2006 6:42 pm
Location: California, USA

Postby richard ellington » Mon Dec 08, 2008 9:05 pm

Hey guys,

Thanks so much for the welcome and answers, much appreciated. One other question though. About any sample being allowed, this means recorded synthesizers outside the program(reaktor ect...) too? Thanks in advanced guys, looking forward to hearing your tracks!
Last edited by richard ellington on Thu Dec 11, 2008 4:22 am, edited 1 time in total.
richard ellington
Newb
Newb
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2008 3:33 am

Postby Sonicade » Mon Dec 08, 2008 10:29 pm

richard ellington wrote:Hey guys,

Thanks so much for the welcome and answers, much appreciated. One other question though. About any sample being allowed, this means recorded synthesizers outside the program(reaktor ect...) too? Thanks in advanced guys, looking forward to hearing your tracks!

-Benjamin

You're welcome, and yep, anything and everything! Sky is the limit!
User avatar
Sonicade
Compo Admin
Compo Admin
 
Posts: 773
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2006 6:42 pm
Location: California, USA

Postby aged » Tue Dec 09, 2008 5:37 pm

Sonicade wrote:You're welcome, and yep, anything and everything! Sky is the limit!


no, size is the limit :)
Image
Image
User avatar
aged
Insomniac
Insomniac
 
Posts: 283
Joined: Thu Mar 30, 2006 12:18 pm

Postby organic io » Wed Dec 10, 2008 12:49 pm

aged wrote:
Sonicade wrote:You're welcome, and yep, anything and everything! Sky is the limit!


no, size is the limit :)


Yeah I was gonna say, as long as you're under the 6mb sky ...
User avatar
organic io
Compo Admin
Compo Admin
 
Posts: 1535
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2006 11:55 am

Postby Sonicade » Wed Dec 10, 2008 5:55 pm

Right right, the 6mb sky.
User avatar
Sonicade
Compo Admin
Compo Admin
 
Posts: 773
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2006 6:42 pm
Location: California, USA

Return to Compo Talk

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests