General Discussion Forum.

Rules clarification requested for Round 72

Rules clarification requested for Round 72

Postby lossfizzle » Sat Mar 16, 2013 7:32 pm

Howdy. I am an experienced musician / music software tinkerer but am relatively new to trackers and the, uh, scene. I'd like to try my hand in compo round 72. Been cutting my teeth mostly on LGPT for the last few months and I'm in love with the little Pig, but since that's not allowed, it looks like OpenMPT is my best bet of the available options (although I am also considering Buzz too at this stage).

I've got two questions about phrasing of the contribution rules.

Question one, re: Rule 3:
"Modules are limited to ONLY the built in effects of your chosen tracker."
followed by
"Buzz/Psycle/Modplug/MadTracker entries must include all plugins required by the track inside the entry archive (zip, rar, etc)."

This seems like a contradiction to me, coming from traditional-DAW-land. OpenMPT does not seem to have yer basic DSP effects beyond pattern-line manipulation commands. So - no reverb / compression VSTs allowed...? Or are they, as long as they are packaged with the entry? (I am a freeware-only guy, yes.)

Also, if I decide to switch to Buzz, does this mean I can only use the bone-stock distributed install and included handful of Jeskola machines, no third-party machines (and also no VSTs/VSTis)? Or: are third-party Buzz machines allowed, and VSTis not allowed?

Question two, re: Rule 5:
"Personally recorded samples are performances recorded by yourself. One-shot personal recordings are not allowed, only performances."
I'm gonna try to be as hardcore as possible and only use this (frankly ridiculous, but there's the challenge!) CMI sample set. However, these samples are hyper-cheesy, so I'm also aware that I may not be able to pull that off to my liking.